Friday, December 3, 2010

Wrestling Nuggets Year End Awards (Preview)

Nugget Commentary - Wrestling Nuggets Year End Awards (Preview)

with the WWE presenting their 2010 Slammy Awards & other sites like Future Endeavors already beating them to it! Award season is most definitely here again, and with seemingly everybody wanting to name their "Superstar of the Year" and such like...Wrestling Nuggets is no different and wants in on the 'Year End Awards' action. 
So let us hop aboard the awards bandwagon and prepare for the first ever, Wrestling Nuggets' Chicken Dinner Year End Awards...

After an action packed year in wrestling, where a second round of 'Monday Night Wars' failed to ignite, many famous faces bowed out of the spotlight, champions were crowned, new superstars debuted and a whole bunch of other stuff went down, what events & stars will be taking home accolades and a highly prestigious 'Golden Nugget'? 
(As most of my viewing has been of the WWE & TNA's shows this year, those are where the majority of nominations come from. So if you're a big fan of indies? Sorry, tis my awards though, and i'll give 'em to who i want!!!)
The categories and nominees will include (but not be exclusive too):
  • The Chick-Fil-A Award for Wrestler of the Year (nominees include...
       The Miz, of course!, CM Punk, Chris Jericho, John Cena, Kurt Angle, AJ Styles, Daniel Bryan, and Rey Mysterio)
  • The Blazin Wing Award for Markout Moment of the Year (nominees include: Miz winning MITB, Bret Hart and Shawn Michaels meet in the ring, Virgil's return, The Nexus debut, Daniel Bryan returns at Summerslam and The Miz winning the WWE Title, The Undertaker & Brock Lesnar's confrontation)
  • The Hooters Award for Diva/Knockout of the Year (nominees include: Michelle McCool, Layla, Mickey James and Natalya)
  • The Hatched Egg Award for Rookie/Breakout Star of the Year (nominees include: Wade Barrett, Alberto Del Rio, Daniel Bryan, Kaval, Alex Riley, Justin Gabriel)
  • The Cock-A-Doodle-Doo Award for the Talker of the Year (nominees include: CM Punk, Chris Jericho, The Miz, John Cena, Mick Foley, Roddy Piper, Ric Flair)
  • Commentator of the Year (nominees include: Michael Cole, Mike Tenay, Matt Striker, CM Punk & J.R.)
  • Match of the Year (matches include: Shawn Michaels vs. The Undertaker WM26, Daniel Bryan vs. the Miz vs. John Morrison Bragging Rights, The Raw Money In The Bank ladder match MITB, Jerry Lawler vs. The Miz Raw, Beer Money vs. Motor City Machine Guns Best of 5 Series Match 5)
  • The Buffalo Wild Wings Award for Card of the Year (nominees include: Money In The Bank, WrestleMania 26, Final Resolution, The Whole F'N Show and Night of Champions)
  • Broken Bones Award for MMA fighter of the Year (nominees include: Jose Aldo, Georges St.Pierre, Anderson Silva, Brock Lesnar, Cain Velasquez, Shogun Rua & Frankie Edgar)
  • The Foghorn Leghorn Award for Character of the Year (nominees include: 'Dashing' Cody Rhodes, Alberto Del Rio & his personal ring announcer Ricardo Rodriguez, The Swagger Soaring Eagle & Batista)
  • The Krystal Chicks Award for Most Under-Rated: (nominees include: Doug Williams, Dolph Ziggler, Zack Ryder, Curt Hawkins, Rey Mysterio, Jack Swagger, Cody Rhodes, Jay Lethal, Kofi Kingston, Evan Bourne and Kaval)
  • The McChicken Sandwich Award for Most Over-Rated (nominees include: John Morrison, Randy Orton, Edge, Jeff Hardy, Abyss, Rob Van Dam & Mr.Anderson)
  • Biggest Disappointment of the Year (nominees include: TNA's "They", WrestleMania 26, TNA's Monday Night Impact, Jack Swagger's World Title Reign & The Undertaker)
  •  The Worst Match of the Year (nominees include: Bret Hart vs. Vince McMahon WM26, Nasty Boys vs. Team 3D, Kane vs. The Undertaker HIAC, Hornswoggle vs. The Eagle SD!)
  • The KFC Double Down Award for Worst Wrestler of the Year (nominees include: Vince McMahon, Melina, Lacey Von Erich, David Otunga, that tall dude who talked about mustaches from NXT season 2 & Hornswoggle)
  • The Honey BBQ Sauce Award for Team of the Year (nominees include: Beer Money, Motor City Machine Guns, Generation Me, The Nasty Boys (i jest, i jest they aren't included), and the Hart Dynasty)
  • Move of the Year (nominees include: Tyler Reks' 'Burning Hammer', Evan Bourne's 'Air Bourne', Justin Gabriel's '450 Splash', Daniel Bryan's 'LeBell Lock', Santino Marella's 'The Cobra')
  • Wrestling Tweeter of the Year (nominees include: Chris Jericho, CM Punk, Hurricane Helms, J.R. and Christian)
  • The Turkey Award for the Jabroni of the Year (nominees include: Hulk Hogan, Eric Bischoff, Dixie Carter, Vince McMahon, The Undertaker & Matt Hardy)
So who will be winning the 'Golden Nuggets'? The winners for all these categories, plus any others that i think up between now and writing the final 'Chicken Dinner Awards' article, will be revealed following WWE's TLC pay per view. Be sure to check out Wrestling Nuggets then!
Have your say on who you think deserves to win, either leave a comment right on this very website or over on the Twitter by replying to @WrestlinNuggets@IAmNotANugget_


  1. Talker of the year HAS to be The Miz.

  2. nice ..plz visit me